A long way to go

Well, this is my first blog post and I’m going to keep it short and sweet.

In 17 days I’ll be 32.

I’m lazy, overweight and bored.

I have no real active hobbies and spend my time drinking and over eating.

I’m 5 foot 7, pushing 14 stone and feel uncomfortable in my own body.

Whinge whinge whinge. Why not do something about it ?

Well. That’s exactly what I am intending to do.

I am going to do an Olympic length triathlon. By this time next year.

Sounds easy doesn’t it.

It’s only a 1.5km (0.93miles) swim, 40km (24.8miles) cycle and 10km (6.2miles) run. That doesn’t sound to hard.

Well, I hate the gym. I can’t swim front crawl. I hate running and cycling kills me.

I’m in the Royal Navy and have to pass a fitness test every year.

I get 12.09 to run 2.4km or need to get 8.7 when doing a multi stage fitness test (Bleep test). I just scrape through every time and in the past I have even been forced to do remedial training to get me up to the bare minimum fitness standard for the forces.

Add to that the fact that I hate swimming in open water and I don’t even own a bike yet and you’ll begin to see the task ahead of me.

Training starts tomorrow……………

One comment on “A long way to go

  1. ee3dmw says:

    Good luck! Interested to see how you get on.

Leave a Reply

