First swim

Well, swimming.

What to say about swimming.

I swam 660 metres in 20 mins.

It was fun. I tried out my new goggles.

They worked brilliantly. No water in my eyes, I could see where I was going and they didn’t steam up.

At that pace I should do the 1.5km in about an hour (taking into consideration that I’ll tire)

And that was doing breast stroke.

So far so good…..

Oh, and then front crawl happened.

I say happened. For 99 hopeless metres I attempted front crawl with all the grace and elegance of a man wrestling a crocodile.

A particularly lively crocodile that is wildly thrashing from side to side.

My stroke is ragged. I veer wildly off course and I have no idea when I’m supposed to do that most natural of activities, breathing.

I have a lot of practicing to do….

 

 

So, I can’t swim particularly well.

The next very obvious step is to buy a brand new wetsuit.

Obviously!

So that’s what I have done.

I have just purchased a 2XU T:2 wetsuit from the fine folks at B2P Triathlon and Multi-sports store. And it was a bargain as well. I managed to pick it up for £125 inc p&p.

It should be here in 3 to 5 working days and I can’t wait.

I went with the 2XU T:2 because of it’s great reviews, and also because of one other very important reason.

They do wetsuits in my size.

I am a Medium Solid. Which in real talk means short and fat.

Or vertically challenged and rotund if you like.

I’m 5.7″ but pushing 88kg, so I needed a suit that would fit me, and of all the manufacturers 2XU seem to be the ones who cater for the not so athletic amongst us.

 

Here’s what TriFinder had to say about the suit.

‘the winner of our Ultimate Performer Award is the 2XU T:2 suit which out shone the rest, it’s technically advanced, fits like a second skin, has perfect buoyancy, looks the part and will save you time in any swim and at only £220 it’s also phenomenal value’.

Sounds good to me.

I’ll let you know how I get on with it.

 

 

One comment on “First swim

  1. What can i say, you must get your swimmimg skills off me! sorry son. “But hey keep at it” and maybe get yourself some swimmimg lesson as well as investing in wetsuits, bikes etc. Just a thought.

Leave a Reply

